There are two main types of accounts that can be created in eScribe: Forms and Single Sign-On (SSO).
Forms users are local accounts created and managed within eScribe by an Administrator. Administrators can choose to create these accounts in advance and send activation emails to users when they are ready to access the system.
Single Sign-On (SSO) users authenticate through an external identity provider. These accounts do not require an activation email, as they are active immediately upon creation. Jump to the section that best suits the organization.
Creating a new Forms User
Go to Main Navigation Bar.
Click Users & Groups.
Select User List.
On the Users List page, click the Create User button.
- Under Sign In Option select > eScribe Account from the drop down to begin a new user
Select the type of User Role to assign to the user.
Upload a Photo and Signature if required.
Click Save to create the new user.
The new user will appear in the users list and can be managed using the options menu.
Creating an ADFS/Azure User
Go to Main Navigation Bar.
Click Users & Groups.
Select User List.
On the Users List page, click the Create User button.
- Under Sign In Option select > Single Sign on from the drop down to begin a new user
Select the type of User Role to assign to the user.
Upload a Photo and Signature if required.
Click Save to create the new user.
The new user will appear in the users list and can be managed using the options menu.
Users who are setup as SSO will be activated automatically within eScribe. The invitation to join eScribe can be disregarded for SSO customers only.
Updating an existing user profile
eSCRIBE Administrators can update all the properties of a user's profile with the exception of resetting their passwords.
Go to the Main Navigation Bar.
Click Users & Groups.
Select User List.
Locate the user in the list.
Click the Options Menu next to the user.
From the dropdown, select Edit User
Deactivate User
To deactivate a form/ADFS user click on the name of the user from the list and click Deactivate User in the options menu. The user profile will continue to exist in the user list, however access to eScribe will be restricted.
Delete User
To delete a user permanent from eScribe click on the name of the user and click "Delete User" from the options menu.
Note: This action is permanent, and cannot be undone. Please ensure the User is not part of any running workflows or Attendee Groups, otherwise, remove the user from any Approval Groups and Attendee Groups before deleting the User from eSCRIBE.
Permissions and Roles
Use the table below to assist with assigning permissions to new users.
| Role | Primary Purpose | Typical Users | Key Capabilities |
|---|---|---|---|
| Super Administrator | Full system administration | System owners, primary eScribe administrators | Full tenant-wide access, all meetings, all meeting types, all users, all attendee groups, all administrative functions, and all documents. |
| Administrator | Manage assigned meeting types and system settings | Clerks, governance administrators | Administrative access for assigned meeting types, attendee groups, users, meetings, documents, and configuration settings. |
| Meeting Administrator | Manage specific meetings and workflows | Committee clerks, meeting coordinators | Create and manage meetings, approvals, tasks, and documents based on assigned Meeting Template permissions. Optional access to attendee groups and approval groups. |
| Contributor | Create and submit meeting content | Report writers, department staff, approvers | Create and edit reports, initiate approvals, approve or delegate approval tasks, and manage assigned tasks when Task Manager access is enabled. |
| Participant | Participate in meetings | Council members, board members, committee members | Access meeting materials, download agenda packages, and optionally use annotations, request to speak, and electronic voting. |
| Visitor | Read-only access | External stakeholders, auditors, public-facing users | View-only access to authorized meetings and information without editing or administrative permissions. |
Sending Invites to new users
Once an eSCRIBE Administrator has created a new account they are in a holding pattern until an email Invite is sent to the user asking them to create their own unique password prior to logging in.
To invite a user to create a new password prior to logging, click Send Invite from the Options Menu.
| Note: The Send Invite function does not need to be sent to users who are Single Sign on as their accounts are automatically active. Users set up as Forms will need an invitation sent. |
Once Send Invitation is clicked, users will get the email below to access their account.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.